m.i.a: born free!

April 26, 2010

Wow, M.I.A is playing no games this go round! She is coming back hard with her new song Born Free. Stylistically, the song differs from M.I.A’s previous efforts. I’m not sure whether this punk-rock inspired track is the first single or just a buzz single. Regardless, I really like.

The video really got my attention! I appreciate how it has a real message instead of some corny gimmick that’s passed off as innovative. She’s using these redheads being graphically murdered in the desert as a metaphor for real life issues, such as the Sri Lankan Civil War and its post-war state. Though she wasn’t in the video herself, I was completely engrossed, wondering what would happen next.

M.I.A’s new album, which is yet to be titled, will be released this summer!

2 Responses to “m.i.a: born free!”

  1. Kristen Says:

    oi, this video seriously like disturbed me. Was not expecting to see a little kid systematically murdered right in front of my eyes. I do like the message though, but I was so annoyed with the ruckus she caused when it was taken off youtube.

  2. Nick Says:

    yeah, it caught me so off guard!!


Leave a Reply

