christina on: gaga comparisons!

April 20, 2010

Aguilera also addressed online criticism that she’s copying Lady Gaga with her new album.

“It just comes with the territory. That, in particular, is not even worth wasting the breath to comment on,” she sniped. “I’ve been around for over a decade and I think my work speaks for myself.”

If she were younger, “I would have engaged, been a little upset,” she says. But now? “There’s a bigger picture out there. I’ve got my son, my family, my work.”

SOURCE

As someone who follows both artists, especially Christina, I am so over the comparisons. I hate when people don’t really know the artist (besides a few popular singles and what haircut they have) and try to accuse that artist of copying. Those people are uninformed and sound ignorant. When you know the artists, their history, and their vision as well as I know Christina’s, you can see past petty rumors and false comparisons.

I think Christina handled this maturely and with class! She’s better than me, because after a year of being compared to Lady Gaga (who is not as original as people would like to believe), I’d be throwing bows. To read what Akon said to warrant this response, click here.

Leave a Reply

