my favorite videos: the roof!

February 27, 2010

This was not a song I remembered hearing growing up, probably because it wasn’t released in the US as a single. I first heard it when I was going through Mariah’s discography. This song is from her album Butterfly, which is when she began incorporating more R&B and Hip-Hop into her music.

I like this song because it’s tells you a story. Mariah gives you a visual image of that rainy night on the roof. The video does the same. It’s like she has a secret, and she’s ready to spill it. I feel like I’m being invited into her world briefly. Very low-key, chill, reminiscent. It shows her being relatively real. She’s not trying to be a fairy, a mermaid, My Little Pony or anything, which is a nice change. She’s just remembering that one night. And we all have that one night.

Leave a Reply

