black eyed peas: imma be rocking that body!

February 16, 2010

Imma Be and Rock That Body are some of my favorites from Black Eyed Peas‘ last album The E.N.D., so I was excited to see a video. I think this a really creative way of promoting two singles with one video. I’ve never really seen it done before like this.

While they are not very original or fresh when it comes to their idea of the future (robots are so 2000 and late), I do like the video for the most part. They found a way to put Fergie futuristic space-whore outfit, give will.i.am enough screen time to make cunty dramatic faces, and justified the use of auto-tune all in one video! Two videos? No, ONE video!

In the back of my mind, I wonder how Taboo feels when he goes to sleep at night and realizes he is the weakest link. With Fergie and will.i.am playing Beyoncé and Sasha Fierce (respectively), and Apl.de.ap holding down that Kelly position, Taboo is left in the shadows singing harmonies and rapping leftover scraps like LaTavia (not even on Michelle’s level). We all gon’ be mad when Taboo drops the solo album and snatches your wigs off.

I’m not sure how I feel about the Oscar buzz-worthy acting in the beginning and end of the video. Spare me. Regardless, I like the video. Loving the Transformer things at the end who just give up trying to assassinate Fergie, and just start dancing. It’s either a metaphor for nonviolent protesting or their way of attempting suicide.

You like the video? You hate it? Leave a comment and let me know!

3 Responses to “black eyed peas: imma be rocking that body!”

  1. Stalker Status Says:

    YESSS! I LOVE YOUR BLOGS SO MUCH NICK! You are SUCH a visionary : )

  2. Kristen Says:

    So did the dancing robots scene remind anyone else of the junkyard scene from High School Musical 3? Eh? Eh? Ok just me then. And when Taboo showed up I was like “… Severus Snape?”.

    So all in all, I highly enjoyed this video.

  3. Nick Says:

    I never saw High School Musical 3!! I will have to watch it now!


Leave a Reply

