under the spotlight: mayer hawthorne!

February 11, 2010

In the first edition of Under The Spotlight, I will be putting Mayer Hawthorne on blast. I found out about him last year through my old dance teacher. She posted his song Maybe So, Maybe No on Facebook, and I thought it was great. Mayer Hawthorne captures 60s pop/soul and modernizes it just enough to make it sound fresh.

His album, A Strange Arrangement, has been giving me life since September, and has been supplementing my playlists month after month. Give the album a listen if you’re into the Motown pop/soul sound, Amy Winehouse, or if you just like good music.

Check out Maybe So, Maybe No:

And to everyone in the New York area, the Mayer will be playing at Webster Hall on March 4th! I will be there!

Leave a Reply

